Categories: NEWS

THE AMITY AFFLICTION Release B-Side Tracks ‘Midnight Train’ and ‘Don’t Wade in the Water’

Australian outfit THE AMITY AFFLICTION have released two B-side tracks from their latest record ‘Everyone Loves You… Once You Leave Them‘.

The two tracks, ‘Midnight Train’ and ‘Don’t Wade in the Water’, are what the band consider some of their most personal to date. Speaking of ‘Midnight Train’, frontman Joel Birch said: “‘Midnight Train’ came about from Ahren just singing ‘midnight train’ in amongst some other garbage when he did the scratch track for me to get an idea of how he wanted to sing the chorus. We wrote the entire song around those two words, which wasn’t actually hard because there was some context to it. It follows an arc of my relationship with my wife, ending where we are today. We’ve known each other for 25 years and the song covers some key moments for both of us.

Birch continues to discuss ‘Don’t Wade in the Water’: “It’s song about my mother and father and the role the church had in separating them, and then the role that the church and religion played in my later life. Obviously, it is a play on the old hymn sung by Ella Jenkins, which is a beautiful, beautiful song. I wanted to contrast that with my own personal experience, which was disenfranchising to say the least.

Check out ‘Midnight Train’ below!

And check out ‘Don’t Wade in the Water’ below!

Jo Cosgrove

Published by
Jo Cosgrove

Recent Posts

GREG PUCIATO Announces Streaming Event ‘Fuck Content’

Vocalist and musician GREG PUCIATO has announced the premiere of his new streaming event, 'Fuck…

4 hours ago

YOUNG STATES Release New Single ‘Fool’s Paradise’

Norwich outfit YOUNG STATES have released a brand new single 'Fool's Paradise'. The single follows…

9 hours ago

NORMANDIE Announce Rescheduled UK And European Tour Dates

Stockholm outfit NORMANDIE have announced their rescheduled dates for their UK and European tour. The…

9 hours ago

SENSES FAIL Release Two-Track Single ‘Christmas Has Been Canceled Due To Lack of Hustle’

SENSES FAIL have released two new Christmas covers in their new single 'Christmas Has Been…

10 hours ago


BLACKOUT PROBLEMS have released a brand new single, 'LADY EARTH'. The single is taken from…

11 hours ago

FOR YOU THE MOON Release New Single ‘Lost Without It’

FOR YOU THE MOON have released their brand new single 'Lost Without It'. The single…

11 hours ago